Juan Karlos shares three new songs in ‘Drop 1’ collection

Written by on 01/04/2022

Juan Karlos

Filipino singer-songwriter Juan Karlos has released three new songs, packaged in a collection titled ‘Drop 1’.

  • READ MORE: Full house: Ben&Ben return with their second album and “a multiverse of madness”

Released on Thursday (March 31) via Island Records Philippines, ‘Drop 1’ consists of the tracks ‘Buksan’, ‘Aminin’ and ‘Pancit’ featuring Janine Berdin. All three songs feature a mellow, acoustic guitar-led sound, backed by stirring keys, bass and drum performances from collaborators such as Nikko Rivera, Rickson Ruiz and Karel Honasan.

Listen to Juan Karlos’ ‘Drop 1’ below.

The collection of singles sees Karlos tap into his imagination, allowing his listeners to interpret his lyrics however they want. “People will have different interpretations because we all have different experiences,” he said via a press release.

‘Buksan’, ‘Aminin’ and ‘Pancit’ are the singer-songwriter’s first releases of the year. It is currently unclear if they will feature on a larger project in the future, such as an album.

Prior to ‘Drop 1’, Juan Karlos released the single ‘Boston’ in July last year. In August, he collaborated with Ben&Ben and Zild Benitez for the track ‘Lunod’, which appeared on the former’s sophomore album ‘Pebble House, Vol. 1: Kuwaderno’.

Juan Karlos has released three albums to date: 2015’s ‘JK’, 2017’s ‘JKL’ and ‘Diwa’ in March 2020. ‘Diwa’ features popular tracks like ‘Kalawakan’, ‘Sampaguita’, ‘Sistema’ and ‘Biyak’.

The post Juan Karlos shares three new songs in ‘Drop 1’ collection appeared first on NME.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track